Presidential Council

The Presidential Council of the Austrian Standards International is the main specialized consultative body of the Association.

The consultations primarily relate to economic policy and strategic issues as well as relevant specialized topics, future developments as well as changes in the environment and their potential impact on the Association’s field of activities.

The Presidential Council set up a committee on technical specifications and building regulations, a committee on consumer protection and a committee on research, innovation and standardisation.


Members presidential council

Clemens Martin Auer

Federal Ministry of Social Affairs, Health, Care and Consumer Protection

Brigitte Bach

Board of Directors of Salzburg AG

Peter Bauer

Professor of structural design at the TU Wien

Othmar Berner

Member of the Federal Trade Organization of Roofers, Glaziers and Tinsmiths

Josef Breiter

Vice-president of the Lower Austrian Chamber of Commerce

Eva Czernohorszky

Head of Technology Services of the Vienna Business Agency (VBA)

Peter Diatel

Chairman Technical Committee of the Austrian Industrial Gases Association (ÖIGV)

Arno Ebner

Head of Division III – Consumer Policy of the Federal Ministry of Labour, Social Affairs, Health and Consumer Protection

Eva Maria Eichinger-Vill

Managing Director, partner at VILL ZT

Urs Fischer

CEO, Swiss Association for Standardization (SNV)

Werner Fischer

Head of Standardization & Regulation Management, Siemens AG Austria

Susanne Formanek

Managing director of GrünstattGrau Forschungs- und Innovations GmbH

Christian Gabriel

Head of standardization department of the Austrian Electrotechnical Association (OVE)

Ludovit Garzik

Managing Director, Austrian Council for Research and Technology Development

Richard Gauss

Director for Financial Management in the Administrative Group for Social Affairs, Public Health and Sports in the City of Vienna

Michael Grübl

Head of Research & Delivery Business at Hutchison Drei Austria

Stefan Haas


Martin Haidvogl

Presidential Council member

Michael Heiss

Principal Consultant for Digital Enterprise, Siemens AG Österreich

Gregor Herzog

Presidential Council member

Christian Holzer

Federal Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology

Gerhard Hrebicek

Founder and president of the European Brand Institute

Wolfgang Hribernik

Head of Center for Energy at the Austrian Institute of Technology (AIT)

Günter Idinger

Managing director of Eaton Industries Austria

Brigitte Jank

President of the Austrian Sports Federation for the Disabled (ÖBSV)

Bernhard Jarolim

Head of the competence centre for construction research, building regulations, engineering services and standards at the Chief Executive Office of the City of Vienna

Reinhard Kainz

Director of the Trade and Crafts Section of the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber

Konstantinos Karachalios

Managing director of the IEEE Standards Association

Mariana Karepova

President of the Austrian Patent Office

Karoline Meschnigg

Head of Directorate I/B as well as the Department of Part-time Vocational Schools and Pre-Vocational Schools of the Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research

Rainer Mikulits

Managing Director of Österreichischen Instituts für Bautechnik (OIB)

Andreas Mörk

Director of the Industrial Section of the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber

Alexander Petsche

Lawyer and partner in the law firm Baker & McKenzie

Alexander Poledna

Head of Intellectual Property Rights, Standards & Journals, Corporate Research (SF), Voestalpine Stahl GmbH

Heinz Polsterer

Heinz Polsterer ist Leiter des Bereichs Standardisierung, IPR-Management und Open Source Compliance im Technologiebereich der Deutschen Telekom.

Andreas Reichhardt

Head of Division III - Federal Ministry of Agriculture, Regions and Tourism

Jean-Marie Reiff

Director of the Luxembourg Institute of Standardization, Accreditation, Security and Product and Service Quality

Helmut Richter

Plastics technology and environmental engineering at the Testing Centre of Technologisches Gewerbemuseum (TGM)

Maria Mercedes Ritschl

Legal policy expert at the Federation of Austrian Industry

Konrad Scheiber

CEO of Quality Austria Trainings- Zertifizierungs- und Begutachtungs GmbH

Andreas Schmidt

President of Austrolab

Walter Schwartz

Attorney-at-law and senior partner of the law firm SHMP Schwartz Huber-Medek Pallitsch Rechtsanwälte GmbH

Christian R. Schweiger

Specialist for medical and chemical laboratory diagnostics, Vienna General Hospital/Medical University Campus

Sabine Seidler

Director of TU Wien

Sonja Sheikh

managing director of Austrian Cooperative Research (ACR)

Gottfried W. Sommer

political secretary for ÖGB Stabstelle ÖBAG

Regina Sommer

Professor habilitated in water and food hygiene at the Medical University of Vienna

Roland Sommer

Managing director of the association "Industry 4.0 Austria - The Platform for Smart Production"

Walter Steinacker

Provincial Construction Director at the Office of the Provincial Government of Lower Austria

Martin Ewald Steinhäufl

Managing director of Schlosserei Martin Steinhäufl

Mark Topal-Gökceli

Head of Rail System Engineering and Operations department of ÖBB Holding AG

Bogdan Topić

President of SIST, the Slovenian Institute for Standardization

Sonja Wiesholzer

Head of Design, Operation and Environment Department at the Federal Ministry of Climate Action

Lothar Wiltschek


Christoph Winterhalter

Chairman of the Executive Board of Deutsches Institut für Normung (DIN)

Klaus Wittig

Head of Safety Testing Centre of the Austrian Workers' Compensation Board (AUVA) 

Markus Wolf

Department of International Youth and Family Policy, Federal Ministry of Labour, Family and Youth