Living Standards Award 2023

Call for proposals ended on 21. December 2022

Austria's most significant award for standardization and innovation is ready for the 9th round:

The Living Standards Award recognizes success stories focusing on innovative solutions, ideas with export potential and technologies of the future. Therefore, Austrian Standards is looking for innovative enterprises, organizations, research institutions and start-ups.

Individuals may also submit proposals, and you may also nominate others.


The Living Standards Award 2023 rewards outstanding achievements related to the application and development of standards. The call for proposals ended on 21 December 2022. A high-level jury made up of Austrian and international experts will review the submissions. The Living Standards Award 2023 will be presented to the winners in spring 2023.


Standards are solutions for current social and economic challenges.

Based on standards or the development of standards, have you:

  • developed products and/or services making life easier for your customers?
  • improved the quality of your products and/or services or implemented important interfaces?
  • made production or work processes safer and/or test or measurement methods more efficient?

Standards support access to new international markets.

Based on standards or the development of standards, have you:

  • successfully rolled out your products and/or services in a new market?
  • ensured compatibility in international markets?
  • improved co-operation with international suppliers on site?

Standards are drivers of innovation, e.g. in the field of energy, health and the environment.

Based on standards or the development of standards, have you:

  • successfully brought to market innovative products and/or services?
  • reduced development times and/or implemented research results faster?
  • improved research and/or innovation processes?

The LIVING STANDARDS AWARD Winners are in the limelight

The Living Standards Award has been presented since 2015. The award winners are not merely in the limelight during the award ceremony, they also get increased visibility due to extensive reporting in general-interest and specialized media. They are also taken note of in the national and international standardization community.

Previous Laureates of the Living Standards Awards

In the past eight years, almost 40 winners received the Living Standard Award. They came from industry, the innovation and start-up community, administration and research.

This community of excellence grows from year to year. Learn more about the previous award winners.

What the winners of the Living Standards Awards say:

"The Living Standards Award is very important for us. We would not be able to position ourselves in the international market without standards. We are born global, and this is why we give top priority to standards."

Nils Berger, CEO, Viewpointsystem

"We are delighted about the Award. It highlights the importance of applied research and the impact it can have internationally. Our goal is to incorporat innovations in standardization."

Elisabeth Mertl, Senior Researcher, Austrian Research Institute for Chemistry and Technology (OFI)

"It is a great honour for us to have received the Living Standards Award. Being a small and young enterprise, we have been given the opportunity to raise our visibility."

Michael Santek, CTO, BHS Technologies


Regina Slameczka, Manager Communications

Regina Slameczka

Manager Communications