Living Standards Award 2022

Take part and submit your proposal now

The Living Standards Award annually brings national and international hidden champions before the curtain. It shows how standards help to shape economic success, drive innovation and make ideas exportable. Austrian Standards is looking for innovative companies, organisations, research institutions and start-ups.

Standards are solutions for current social and economic challenges.

Based on standards or the development of standards, have you:

  • developed products and/or services making life easier for your customers?
  • improved the quality of your products and/or services or implemented important interfaces?
  • made production or work processes safer and/or test or measurement methods more efficient?

Standards support access to new international markets.

Based on standards or the development of standards, have you:

  • successfully rolled out your products and/or services in a new market?
  • ensured compatibility in international markets?
  • improved co-operation with international suppliers on site?

Standards are drivers of innovation and a bridge to the market, e.g. in the field of energy, health, mobility and the environment.

Based on standards or the development of standards, have you:

  • successfully brought to market innovative products and/or services?
  • reduced development times and/or implemented research results faster?
  • improved research and/or innovation processes?

IEEE standards play an important part in electrical engineering and information technology.

Based on IEEE standards and/or the development of IEEE standards, have you:

  • forged ahead with new technologies and/or innovation processes?
  • created interfaces for hardware and/or software?
  • enabled interoperable and vendor-independent solutions?
  • advanced technology for the benefit of humanity

About IEEE

IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. With its publications, conferences and technical standards, IEEE has become a leading authority in many areas ranging from aerospace systems, telecommunications to biomedical engineering and consumer electronics.

Winners of the Living Standards Award in the limelight

A high-level jury made up of experts from Austria and abroad reviews the proposals submitted. The Award will be presented to the winners on 20 January 2022. Extensive media coverage is guaranteed.

Community of ecxellence – the previous Award winners

The Living Standards Award has been presented since 2015. The community of excellence grows every year – it already includes more than 30 laureates.

What the Award winners say:

"We ensure safety and minimize the likelihood of operator errors by means of standards. We are very pleased to receive the Living Standards Award for those efforts."

Michael Ring, Chief Regulatory Affairs Officer, CortEXplore

"It is a great honour for us to receive the Living Standards Award. As a small and new company, this gives us the opportunity to raise our visibility."

Michael Santek, CTO, BHS Technologies

"I am grateful to have won the Award. We demonstrate especially to start-ups that it is worthwhile to implement standards."

Thomas Monz, CEO, Alpine Quantum Technologies

Submitting a proposal for the Living Standards Award 2022

The call for the Living Standards Award 2022 is open until 30 September 2021. Please complete the online form (this will take about 5 minutes). The clearer the description of your proposal is, the easier it is for us to process your proposal for the jury. If necessary, we will contact you to clarify open issues.

N.B.: Please submit your proposal in the English language, if possible.

Costs arising from the submission of proposals and participation in the Living Standards Award ceremony (e.g. travel and accommodation expenses) cannot be reimbursed by Austrian Standards. Recourse to the courts of law is not permitted.

Please read our Terms of Participation (PDF).

We use your data exclusively for organizing the Living Standards Awards and do not disclose them to third parties (except for data received for the categorie "IEEE Standard" which will be passed on to IEEE, respectively).

Read more in our Privacy Policy.

We are looking forward to your proposal for the Living Standards Award 2022.

Please contact us if you have any questions related to the submission of proposals or in case of technical problems.


Regina Slameczka, Manager Communications

Regina Slameczka

Manager Communications