Living Standards Award

A community of excellence - our awarded organizations

Every year, the Living Standards Award shines the spotlight on national and international hidden champions. It shows how standards contribute to success in business, to advancing innovations and to turning ideas into exports. To this effect, Austrian Standards is looking for innovative enterprises, organizations, research institutions and start-ups.

WHO ARE THE WINNERS OF THE LIVING STANDARDS AWARDS 2022?

Be there when we reveal the secret. Register now for the digital event with live stream of the ceremony on 19 May.

Living Standards Award 2023 - call for entries open.

The most important Austrian prize for standardisation and innovation enters its 9th round. Put your success story with standards in the spotlight now.

Continuous non-invasive monitoring of blood pressure

Living Standards Award 2022, Category "Reaching International Markets"

In intensive care units or during emergency surgery, it may be necessary to monitor the patient's blood pressure by means of continuous invasive measurements in an artery. This method is complicated, entails the risk of infections and is very painful. CNSystems Medizintechnik GmbH realized the medical challenge of continuous non-invasive measurements of blood pressure a long time ago. For its crucial contributions to the development of the international standard ISO 81060-3 "Continuous non-invasive sphygmomanometers", CNSystems Medizintechnik GmbH now received the Living Standards Award.

Benefits: The standard improves not only the testing of medical devices. It also paves the way for introducing new methods and criteria that make it possible to check and assess the performance of continuous non-invasive sphygmomanometers. This reduces complications significantly and shortens hospital stays for patients.

Telemonitoring episode report for disease management programmes in healthcare

Living Standards Award 2022, Category "IEEE Standards"

By introducing the "telemonitoring episode report", ELGA GmbH has revolutionized the way in which data are used in telehealth systems. Patients can now input their own data, such as weight, blood glucose, blood pressure and medication use, via existing systems, e.g. HerzMobil for patients suffering from cardiac insufficiency, and save them to their ELGA health record. Implementation was facilitated, for example, by the standards series IEEE 11073 "Service-Oriented Device Connectivity".

Benefits: The report improves, for example, disease management programmes for chronically ill patients. Health service providers can access health data centrally, and patients enjoy full transparency of their ELGA data.

Consistent calculation of the recyclable share of recovered fuels

Living Standards Award 2022, Category "Developing Future Technology"

Energy and raw materials from waste? In the ReWaste4.0 project, Montanuniversität Leoben developed a method for calculating the recyclable share of recovered fuels in co-operation with the cement industry and recovered fuel producers. The source material: waste, or more precisely, mixed household and commercial waste. The research results obtained by the university lead to the development of a new international standard for recycling recovered fuels in co-processing.

The document co-developed by Montanuniversität Leoben - ISO/AWI 4349 "Solid recovered fuels – Determination of the recycling index for co-processing" - is to be published in 2024.

Benefits: The standard helps calculate the percentage of recovered fuels that can be recycled. As a result, greenhouse gases can be reduced, waste can be used more efficiently, costs can be cut, regional value creation chains can be optimized and sustainable cement production can be promoted.

Medical product tests without suffering for animals

Living Standards Award 2022, Category "Enabling Solutions"

Bye-bye animal testing? In the Biorelation project, the Austrian Research Institute for Chemistry and Technology (OFI), member of Austrian Cooperative Research (ACR), aimed at developing a validated in-vitro screening method for assessing the sensitizing or irritating properties of medical products. The new method is now also included as a recognized alternative to animal testing in ISO 10993.

Benefits: Thanks to the in-vitro (meaning "in the glass") method, animal tests do not need to be performed anymore. Tests can already be carried out in an earlier stage of product development, support product optimization and are faster than animal tests. Among others, the Biorelation project contributed to the further development of the international standard ISO 10993 "Biological evaluation of medical devices".

Easy-to-use smart glasses based on Eye Tracking

Living Standards Award 2022, Category "Developing Future Technology"

Controlling smart glasses with your eyes? With Digital Iris Inside – an all-in-one module series –, Vienna-based Viewpointsystem GmbH offers standardized ready-to-use eye-tracking technology for the first time. The first miniaturized eye sensor module ESM 22 is designed as a snap-in nose pad. It can be integrated into existing glasses (virtual and augmented reality) so that it is almost invisible.

Benefits: The smart glasses are to facilitate remote collaboration. Thus, a person can instruct another user located thousands of miles away during sensitive tasks and work steps or guide them on the basis of the eye data received. A great number of safety standards were taken into account during the development of this product, for example EN 166 on personal eye protection and the eye safety standard IEC 62471 for LEDs.

Award Winners 2021

3D SIMULATIONS FOR DELICATE NEUROSURGERY

Living Standards Award 2021, category "Enabling Solutions"

cortEXplore, founded in 2018, develops neurosurgical navigation systems for precisely planning, simulating and implementing brain surgery. The start-up receives the Award for developing a special positioning system allowing surgeons to reach areas of the brain in a particularly precise way.
Benefits: Access to the target area of surgery can be better planned, risks for patients can be reduced and clinical outcomes can be improved. Standards have been important with regard to quality policy (EN ISO 13485) and risk management in product development (EN ISO 14971).

WITH A ROBOTIC ARM IN THE OPERATING THEATRE

Living Standards Award 2021, category „Reaching International Markets“

A tool that surgeons can use without their hands in the operating theatre? The RoboticScope® of BHS Technologies is the first surgical microscope that decouples surgeons from static microscopes and makes them more mobile. By means of a robotic arm, the microscope automatically adjusts to the movements of the surgeon's head. Instruments do not have to be put down anymore when the microscope needs to be re-adjusted.
Benefits: Safe interventions thanks to optimized ergonomics for surgeons and a better overview during surgery. Standards play a crucial role in safeguarding patient safety. They make sure that "everybody plays by the same rules" and there are no unwelcome surprises in the design and production of medical products (ISO 13485) as well as risk management (ISO 1471) and the handling of medical or electrical equipment.

QUANTUM COMPUTER GOES ELECTRIC KETTLE

Living Standards Award 2021, category „Developing Future Technologies“

For the start-up AQT (Alpine Quantum Technologies) standards play a major role, in particular, when it wants to find a "common language" with IT partners in technical respects (ISO/IEC WD 4879 "Information technology – Quantum computing"). AQT has specialized in developing ion-trap quantum computers and is the first European start-up to bring a quantum computer to the cloud. Building on more than 20 years of research at the University of Innsbruck and the Austrian Academy of Sciences, AQT was able to implement a quantum computer based on industry standards.
Benefits: The computer does not need to be operated under laboratory conditions, fits into a cabinet and consumes as little energy as an electric kettle. Owing to its high computing performance, this technology can support the development of new drugs or materials with planned characteristics.

FINDING MICROPLASTICS RELIABLY AND QUICKLY

Living Standards Award 2021, category „Developing Future Technologies“

Purency GmbH makes microplastics visible. The solutions offered by the Viennese enterprise enable laboratories to perform scalable analyses of microplastics. The high-quality results minimize the need for manual processing. Thus, the time required for data analysis is reduced from hours to approximately ten minutes. Thereby, Purency GmbH creates the basis for reducing microplastics.
Benefits: Researchers can better assess health hazards and environmental impacts and enterprises can improve risk assessment and quality control, Since 2019, employees of Purency GmbH have taken part in international standardization – in ISO/TC 61/SC 14/WG 4 "Characterization of plastics leaked into the environment (including microplastics) and quality control criteria of respective methods".

RESEARCH DEDICATED TO ETHERNET AND INDEPENDENT STANDARDS

Living Standards Award 2021, category „IEEE-Standards“

TTTech Group is the technology leader in the fields of safety controllers and real-time networks for industrial IoT, mobile machinery, autonomous driving as well as aerospace applications. Since 2003, the high-tech company has been involved in standardization activities and joined the working group IEEE 802.1 enabling automotive and industrial networks to use fast Ethernet technology in 2012.
Benefits: TTTech has input its know-how into the development of interoperable and vendor-independent technology standards. TTTech' collaboration in IEEE standardization activities is stronger than ever and contributes to key projects (IEEE P802.1Qcw, IEEE / IEC 60802, IEEE802.1DG).

Award Winners 2020

Clean ground water for climate protection

Living Standards Award 2020, Category "Enabling Solutions"

A joint project of the Federal Ministry for Sustainability and Tourism (BMNT), the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences (Department of Water, Atmosphere and Environment) and Mall GmbH.

Fight against electric waste

Living Standards Award 2020, Category "Reaching International Markets"

Technicians of R.U.S.Z have contributed their technical know-how and decades of experience to the development of specifications for durable and repair-friendly appliances.

Charging technology for smart living

Living Standards Award 2020, Category "Developing Future Technologies"

Easelink, a company based in Graz, developed Matrix Charging®, an innovative charging station for electric cars. The safety standard ISO 26262 formed the basis of the development process.

Home of the future at the Smart Living Lab

Living Standards Award 2020, Category "IEEE Standards"

The University of Applied Sciences Technikum Wien has focused on smart homes and assistive technologies ensuring a high level of autonomy in everyday life for ten years.

How codes contribute to keeping a clear overview

Living Standards Award 2020, Category "GS1 Standards"

LOGICDATA Electronic & Software Entwicklungs GmbH relies on GS1 standards in logistics. On exterior packaging, the GS1 DataMatrix is used to encode important information.

Award winners 2019

PRESENTATION OF THE LIVING STANDARDS AWARDS 2019

Success stories around the application and development of standards

The Living Standards Award was already presented for the fifth time on 24 January. Around 150 businesspeople, scientists and policy-makers attended the Award ceremony.

 

  • BDI-BIOENERGY INTERNATIONAL

High-quality algae biomass for industry

The Styrian plant engineering company BDI-BioEnergy International contributes to the standards ensuring quality control for algal oil for customers at the European level.

 

  • BLUE DANUBE ROBOTICS

Safe collision sensor for industria robotics

To permit collaboration of humans and robots in confined spaces in the same work area Blue Danube Robotics developed AIRSKIN, an artificial skin for machinery.

 

  • S.SPITZ GMBH

Barcodes ensuring product traceability

The food producer S.Spitz GmbH contributed to the development of a new GS1 standard for a clearly structured supplier manual to set up a logistics process without system discontinuities.

 

  • J.M. VOITH AND TRÜTZSCHLER NONWOVENS

Safety for hybrid machines in paper and textile industries

To reconcile different safety requirements applying to a hybrid machine for incontinence products in the two industries, a common international standard was developed.

 

  • MAM BABYARTIKEL GMBH

Safety for babies and infants

The MAM's founder, Peter Röhrig, significantly contributed to the development of the European soother standard that is now recognized world-wide and won over the jury by his long-standing commitment.

Award winners 2018

  • UV-TEAM AUSTRIA

Water quality guaranteed by Austrian standard

The interdisciplinary research partnership "UV-Team Austria" received the Living Standards Award 2018 for the development of a testing standard for UV disinfection plants for drinking water (ÖNORM M 5873).

 

  • NXP SEMICONDUCTORS AUSTRIA GMBH

Austrian know-how used world-wide

This developer of chips for secure, contactless identification and access systems sees standardization as a core element for reaching global markets (e.g. ISO/IEC 14443 for NFC).

 

  • ÖSTERREICHISCHE STAATSDRUCKEREI

Standards for technologies crossing borders

By creating the "My Identity App" (MIA), Österreichische Staatsdruckerei developed an innovative solution that provides secure access to digital documents and electronic IDs (eIDs) via mobile phones world-wide.

 

  • AUSTRIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

Standards for the secure transmission of health data

The Austrian Institute of Technology (AIT) received the Living Standards Award 2018 for an app for measuring and transmitting health data, such as weight, blood glucose and blood pressure.

 

  • GRÜNSTATTGRAU FORSCHUNGS- UND INNOVATIONS GMBH

Standards for green roofs

The objective of the first innovation lab for the green city of the future is to green entire urban quarters by targeted measures for greening buildings (e.g. based on ÖNORM L 1131).

Award winners 2017

  • Kapsch TrafficCom AG: Maut- und Verkehrsmanagement

Standards at all levels

As a provider of Intelligent Transportation Systems, Kapsch TrafficCom covers the entire value chain of its customers. The standardisation strategy has contributed significantly to this.

 

  • Philips

Kitchen without cable clutter

Austria is an important high-tech location for Philips. Product innovations are developed in Klagenfurt, including for wireless kitchen appliances in a working group of the "Wireless Power Consortium".

 

  • MobilePass – AIT

Border controls - mobile, secure & fast

The MobilePass project is a consortium of 11 companies, institutes, universities and authorities. The aim is to develop new technologies for the identification of persons at border controls.

 

  • REFlex

From the assembly line to individual mass production

REFlex is an FFG project. It promotes innovation and development in the field of information technology. A proposal for an ISO/IEC standard was submitted for a patented process.

 

  • Bitmovin

Smooth videos worldwide

The start-up Bitmovin is active in the field of adaptive video streaming. Its founders co-developed the ISO/IEC 23009 - known to experts as the MPEG-DASH standard.

Award winners 2016

  • Amt der OÖ. Landesregierung

Digital building documentation is important to the province of Upper Austria. To this end, a common language has been installed in recent years: Building Information Modelling, or BIM for short. The province of Upper Austria plays a leading role in the further development of the content of the corresponding series of standards.

  • OTIS Gesellschaft mbH

TIS is represented in all standardisation committees relevant to the company at European and international level. More than 1,000 engineers are responsible for ensuring that the products meet all the relevant standards and are certified accordingly. And: this work is coordinated and strategically aligned from Austria.

  • Polymer Competence Center Leoben GmbH

The Polymer Competence Center Leoben PCCL has carried out several research projects with leading plastic pipe manufacturers. In the process, a new testing method was developed that reduces testing times and provides more information. This developed test method has also found its way into the international standard ISO 18489.

  • TGM – Technologisches Gewerbemuseum HTBLuVA Wien XX

The TGM teaches the technicians of tomorrow the importance of standards. This is done, among other things, with the help of the standards management system effects 2.0 and the standards reading room. TGM staff also participate in around 75 standards committees at Austrian Standards.

Award winners 2015

  • Normenmanagement Stadt Wien

More than 20,000 standards are relevant for the City of Vienna. Strategic standards management aims to link all areas of life.

  • Normenmanagement Land Niederösterreich

From construction to playground design, European standards are applied in Lower Austria and ensure safety and comparability. In 2014, the standards management was restructured. Public interests were thus harmonised with technical and scientific progress in the best possible way.

  • Normenmanagement Teufelberger Holding AG

As a leading developer and manufacturer of steel ropes and synthetic fibres, Teufelberger uses standardised test procedures. With effects 2.0, the same platform can be accessed across the company at different locations to manage standards in twelve areas.

Living Standards Award

Die Community of Excellence - unsere Preisträger

Der Living Standards Award holt jährlich nationale und internationale Hidden Champions vor den Vorhang. Er zeigt, wie mit Standards wirtschaftlicher Erfolg mitgestaltet, Innovationen vorangetrieben und Ideen exportfähig gemacht werden. Austrian Standards sucht dafür innovative Unternehmen, Organisationen, Forschungseinrichtungen und Start-ups.

Preisträger des Jahres 2022

Nicht-invasive, kontinuierliche Überwachung des Blutdrucks

Living Standards Award 2022, Kategorie „Reaching International Market“

Auf der Intensivstation oder bei einer Not-OP ist mitunter eine invasive, kontinuierliche Blutdruckmessung in einer Arterie notwendig. Diese Methode ist aufwändig, birgt Infektionsrisiken und ist sehr schmerzhaft. Die CNSystems Medizintechnik GmbH hat die medizinische Herausforderung der kontinuierlichen und nicht-invasiven Messung des Blutdrucks vor langer Zeit erkannt. Für die maßgebliche Mitentwicklung des internationalen Standards ISO 81060-3 „Continuous non-invasive sphygmomanometers“ wurde die CNSystems Medizintechnik GmbH nun ausgezeichnet.

Der Nutzen: Der Standard verbessert nicht nur die Untersuchung medizinischer Geräte. Durch ihn können auch neue Methoden und Kriterien eingeführt werden, die es ermöglichen, die Leistung von kontinuierlichen, nicht-invasiven Blutdruckmessgeräten zu untersuchen und zu bewerten. Dadurch werden Komplikationen erheblich reduziert und Krankenhausaufenthalte für Patientinnen und Patienten verkürzt.

Telemonitoring Episodenbericht für strukturierte Behandlungsprogramme im Gesundheitsbereich

Living Standards Award 2022, Kategorie „IEEE Standards“

Mit dem „Telemonitoring Episodenbericht“ hat die ELGA GmbH die Datenweiterverwendung von Telehealth-Systemen revolutioniert. Patientinnen und Patienten können über bestehende Systeme, wie z. B. den HerzMobil-Systemen, Messwerte wie Körpergewicht, Blutzucker, Blutdruck oder Medikations-Einnahme-Daten nun in der ELGA speichern. Für die Umsetzung hat u. a. die IEEE-Standard-Serie 11073 „Service-Oriented Device Connectivity“ mitgeholfen.

Der Nutzen: Der Bericht verbessert z. B. strukturierte Behandlungsprogramme für chronisch Erkrankte. Gesundheitsanbieter (GDA) können zentral auf Gesundheitsdaten zugreifen, Patientinnen und Patienten haben die volle Transparenz über ELGA.

Konsistente Berechnung des stofflich verwertbaren Anteils von Ersatzbrennstoffen

Living Standards Award 2022, Kategorie „Developing Future Technology“

Energie und Rohstoff aus Müll? Im Rahmen des Projekts „ReWaste4.0“ hat die Montanuniversität Leoben in Kooperation mit Zementindustrie und Ersatzbrennstoffherstellern eine Methode zur Berechnung der stofflich verwertbaren Anteile von Ersatzbrennstoffen erarbeitet. Das Ausgangsmaterial dafür: Abfälle. Genauer gesagt, gemischte Siedlungs- und Gewerbeabfälle. Die Forschungsergebnisse der Universität führten zur Entwicklung eines neuen internationalen Standards für das Recycling von Ersatzbrennstoffen im sogenannten Co-Processing.

Die von der Montanuniversität Leoben mitentwickelte ISO/AWI 4349 „Solid recovered fuels – Determination of the Recycling-Index for Co-Processing“ soll 2024 veröffentlicht werden.

Der Nutzen: Der Standard hilft zu berechnen, wieviel Prozent eines Ersatzbrennstoffs stofflich verwertet werden kann. Dadurch können Treibhausgase reduziert, Abfälle besser genutzt/eingesetzt, Kosten gespart, regionale Wertschöpfungsketten optimiert und die nachhaltige Zementproduktion forciert werden.

Medizinprodukt-Testung ohne Tierleid

Living Standards Award 2022, Kategorie „Enabling Solutions“

Tierversuche ade? Mit dem Projekt „Biorelation“ hat das Österreichische Forschungsinstitut für Chemie und Technik (OFI), Mitglied der ACR, das Ziel verfolgt, eine validierte In-vitro-Screening-Methode zu entwickeln. Diese dient der Bewertung von sensibilisierenden und reizenden Eigenschaften bei Medizinprodukten und wird jetzt auch als anerkannte Alternative zu Tierversuchen in der ISO 10993 geführt.

Der Nutzen: Durch die In-vitro-Methode (Im-Glas-Methode) müssen keine Tierversuche mehr durchgeführt werden. Die Tests können bereits in einem früheren Produktentwicklungsstadium durchgeführt werden, helfen bei Produktoptimierungen und sind schneller als Tierversuche. Unter anderen hat das Projekt „Biorelation“ zur Weiterentwicklung des internationalen Standards ISO 10993 „Biological evaluation of medical devices“ beigetragen.

Massentaugliche Datenbrillen durch Eye-Tracking

Living Standards Award 2022, Kategorie „Developing Future Technology“

Datenbrillen mit den Augen bedienen? Die Viewpointsystem GmbH aus Wien bietet mit Digital Iris Inside – einer All-in-One-Modulserie – erstmals eine standardisierte und sofort einsatzbereite Eye-Tracking-Technologie. Das erste Miniatur-Augensensormodul ESM 22 ist als einrastender Nasenflügel konzipiert. Es kann nahezu unsichtbar in bestehende Brillen (Virtual und Augmented Reality) integriert werden.

Der Nutzen: Die Smart Glasses sollen die Zusammenarbeit auf Distanz erleichtern. So kann eine Person eine andere, die sich tausende von Kilometern entfernt befindet, bei sensiblen Arbeiten und Arbeitsschritten anleiten oder diese mit den empfangenen Augendaten führen. Bei der Produktentwicklung wurden eine Vielzahl von Sicherheitsstandards berücksichtigt, darunter die EN 166 für den Augenschutz und die IEC 62471 zum Schutz vor LED-Licht im Augenbereich.

Preisträger des Jahres 2021

3D-Simulationen für heikle Eingriffe in der Neurochirurgie

Living Standards Award 2021, Kategorie "Enabling Solutions"

cortEXplore wurde 2018 gegründet und entwickelt neurochirurgische Navigationssysteme, um Eingriffe am Gehirn präzise planen, simulieren und durchführen zu können. Das Start-up wird ausgezeichnet für die Entwicklung eines speziellen Ortungssystems, um Areale im Gehirn besonders präzise zu erreichen.
Der Nutzen: Der Zugang zum Ziel bei Operationen kann besser geplant, das Risiko für Patientinnen und Patienten verringert und klinische Ergebnisse verbessert werden. Standards spielten dabei in puncto Qualitätspolitik (EN ISO 13485) und beim Risikomanagement in der Produktentwicklung (EN ISO 14971) eine Rolle.

Mit dem Roboterarm im OP

Living Standards Award 2021, Kategorie „Reaching International Markets“

Ein Instrument im OP-Saal, das ohne Hände benutzt werden kann? Das RoboticScope® von BHS Technologies ist das erste Operationsmikroskop, das Chirurginnen und Chirurgen vom statischen Mikroskop entkoppelt und mehr Bewegungsfreiheit bringt. Mit Hilfe eines Roboterarms passt sich das Mikroskop automatisch den Kopfbewegungen der Chirurginnen und Chirurgen an. Werkzeuge müssen nicht mehr abgelegt und das Mikroskop neu ausgerichtet werden.
Der Nutzen: sichere Eingriffe durch optimierte Ergonomie für Chirurginnen und Chirurgen und mehr Überblick während der Operation. Damit die Patientensicherheit dabei nicht leidet, spielen Standards eine entscheidende Rolle. Sie stellen sicher, dass „alle nach den gleichen Regeln spielen“ und sowohl bei Design und Herstellung von Medizinprodukten (ISO 13485) als auch beim Risikomanagement (ISO 1471) und dem Umgang mit medizinischem bzw. elektrischem Equipment keine unliebsamen Überraschungen auftreten.

Quantencomputer goes Wasserkocher

Living Standards Award 2021, Kategorie „Developing Future Technologies“

Standards spielen für das Start-up AQT (Alpine Quantum Technologies) besonders dann eine Rolle, wenn es mit IT-Partnern in technischer Hinsicht „eine gemeinsame Sprache“ finden will (ISO/IEC WD 4879 „Information technology – Quantum computing“). AQT hat sich darauf spezialisiert, Ionenfallen-Quantencomputer zu entwickeln, und ist das erste Start-up in Europa, das einen Quantencomputer in die Cloud bringt. Aufbauend auf mehr als 20 Jahre Forschung an der Universität Innsbruck und der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften konnte AQT einen auf Industriestandards basierenden Quantencomputer realisieren.
Der Nutzen: Der Computer benötigt keine Laborbedingungen, passt in einen Wandschrank und hat den Stromverbrauch eines Wasserkochers. Die Technologie kann dank hoher Rechenleistung die Entwicklung von neuen Medikamenten oder von Materialien mit geplanten Eigenschaften unterstützen.

Mikroplastik verlässlich und schnell finden

Living Standards Award 2021, Kategorie „Developing Future Technologies“

Die Purency GmbH macht Mikroplastik sichtbar. Die Lösungen des Wiener Unternehmens ermöglichen Laboratorien eine skalierbare Analyse von Mikroplastik. Die Ergebnisse sind von hoher Qualität und minimieren manuelle Nachbearbeitungen. Der Zeitaufwand für die Datenanalyse wird dadurch von Stunden auf etwa zehn Minuten reduziert. Die Purency GmbH schafft so die Basis, um Mikroplastik zu reduzieren.
Der Nutzen: Forscherinnen und Forscher können Aussagen über die Gefahren für Gesundheit und Umwelt besser treffen und Unternehmen ihre Risikobewertungen und Qualitätskontrollen besser durchführen. Seit 2019 sind Mitarbeiter von Purency GmbH in der internationalen Standardisierung dabei – im ISO/TC 61/SC 14/WG 4 „Characterization of plastics leaked into the environment (including microplastics) and quality control criteria of respective methods“.

Forschung im Zeichen von Ethernet und unabhängigen Standards

Living Standards Award 2021, Kategorie „IEEE-Standards“

Die TTTech Group ist Technologieführer für Sicherheitssteuerungen und Echtzeit-Netzwerke für Industrial IoT, mobile Maschinen, autonomes Fahren sowie für Luft- und Raumfahrtapplikationen. Seit 2003 ist das High-Tech-Unternehmen an Standardisierungsaktivitäten beteiligt, seit 2012 ist es Mitglied der IEEE 802.1-Arbeitsgruppe, die Automobil- und Industrienetzwerken ermöglicht, schnelle Ethernet-Technologie zu verwenden.
Der Nutzen: Mit dem TTTech-Know-how wurden interoperable und herstellerunabhängige Technologiestandards entwickelt. TTTech ist bei IEEE-Standardisierungsaktivitäten stärker denn je und trägt zu Schlüsselprojekten bei (IEEE P802.1Qcw, IEEE / IEC 60802, IEEE802.1DG).

Preisträger des Jahres 2020

Sauberes Grundwasser für den Klimaschutz

Living Standards Award 2020, Kategorie "Enabling Solutions"

Ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt des Bundesministeriums für Nachhaltigkeit und Tourismus (BMNT), der Universität für Bodenkultur (Department für Wasser, Atmosphäre und Umwelt) und der Mall GmbH

Kampf dem Elektroschrott

Living Standards Award 2020, Kategorie "Reaching International Markets"

Techniker des R.U.S.Z haben ihre jahrzehntelange Erfahrung und ihr technisches Know-how in die Entwicklung einer Richtlinie für langlebige und reparaturfreundlich konstruierte Geräte eingebracht

Ladetechnologie für das smarte Leben

Living Standards Award 2020, Kategorie "Developing Future Technologies"

Das Grazer Unternehmen Easelink hat mit Matrix Charging® eine innovative Ladestation für E-Autos entwickelt, der Sicherheitsstandard ISO 26262 war Grundlage im Entwicklungsprozess

Wohnung der Zukunft im Smart Living Lab

Living Standards Award 2020, Kategorie "IEEE-Standards"

Die Fachhochschule Technikum Wien beschäftigt sich seit zehn Jahren mit Smart Homes und unterstützenden Technologien, die ein hohes Maß an Autonomie im Alltag ermöglichen

Wie Codes helfen, den Durchblick zu behalten

Living Standards Award 2020, Kategorie "GS1-Standards"

Die LOGICDATA Electronic & Software Entwicklungs GmbH setzt im Logistikbereich auf GS1-Standards. Auf Außenverpackungen werden mit der GS1 DataMatrix wichtige Informationen verschlüsselt angebracht

Preisträger des Jahres 2019

  • BDI-BioEnergy International

Hochqualitative Algenrohstoffe für die Industrie

Der steirische Spezialanlagenbauer BDI-BioEnergy International arbeitet auf europäischer Ebene an jenen Standards mit, die eine Qualitätskontrolle des Algenöls für den Kunden sicherstellen.

 

  • Blue Danube Robotics

Sicherer Kollisionssensor für die Industrierobotik

Damit das Zusammenarbeiten von Mensch und Roboter im selben Arbeitsbereich auf engem Raum möglich ist, hat Blue Danube Robotics mit AIRSKIN eine künstliche Haut für Maschinen entwickelt.

 

  • S.Spitz GmbH

Barcodes zur Rückverfolgbarkeit der Produkte

Der Nahrungsmittelproduzent S.Spitz GmbH hat an einem neuen GS1 Standard für ein klar strukturiertes Lieferantenhandbuch für einen logistischen Prozess ohne Systembrüche mitgearbeitet.

 

  • J.M. Voith und Trützschler Nonwovens

Sicherheit für Hybridanlage der Papier- & Textilindustrie

Aus unterschiedlichen Sicherheitsanforderungen beider Industriesparten an eine Hybridmaschine für Inkontinenzprodukte wurde ein gemeinsamer internationaler Standard entwickelt.

 

  • MAM Babyartikel GmbH

Sicherheit für Säuglinge und Kleinkinder

Der Gründer von MAM, Peter Röhrig, hat den heute weltweit anerkannten Europäischen Standard für Schnuller wesentlich mitentwickelt und überzeugte die Jury durch jahrelanges Engagement.

Preisträger des Jahres 2018

  • UV-Team Austria

Gesicherte Wasserqualität nach österreichischem Standard

Die interdisziplinäre Forschungskooperation "UV-Team Austria" wurde für die Entwicklung eines Standards zur Überprüfung von UV-Desinfektionsanlagen für Trinkwasser (ÖNORM M 5873) ausgezeichnet.

 

  • NXP Semiconductors Austria GmbH

Österreichisches Know-how im weltweiten Einsatz

Für den Entwickler von Chips für sichere, kontaktlose Identifikations- und Zutrittssysteme ist Standardisierung ein Kernelement, um den globalen Markt zu erreichen (z. B. für NFC mit der ISO/IEC 14443).

 

  • Österreichische Staatsdruckerei

Standards für grenzüberschreitende Technologien

Mit der "My Identity App" (MIA) hat die Österreichische Staatsdruckerei eine innovative Lösung entwickelt, die digitale Ausweise und elektronische Identität (eID) weltweit via Handy gesichert abrufbar macht.

 

  • Austrian Institute of Technology

Standards zur gesicherten Übertragung von Gesundheitsdaten

Das Austrian Institute of Technology (AIT) erhielt den Living Standards Award 2018 für eine App zur Messung und Übertragung von Gesundheitswerten, wie z. B. Körpergewicht, Blutzucker und Blutdruck.

 

  • GrünStattGrau Forschungs- und Innovations GmbH

Standards für Dachbegrünung

Ziel des ersten Innovationslabors für die grüne Stadt der Zukunft ist die durchgängige Begrünung von Stadtquartieren durch gezielte Maßnahmen zur Gebäudebegrünung (z.B. mit der ÖNORM L 1131).

Preisträger des Jahres 2017

  • Kapsch TrafficCom AG: Maut- und Verkehrsmanagement

Standards auf allen Ebenen

Als Anbieter von Intelligent Transportation Systems deckt Kapsch TrafficCom die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette seiner Kunden ab. Dazu hat die Standardisierungsstrategie wesentlich beigetragen.

 

  • Philips

Küche ohne Kabelsalat

Österreich ist für Philips ein wichtiger Hightech-Standort. In Klagenfurt werden Produktinnovationen entwickelt, u.a. für kabellose Küchengeräte in einer Arbeitsgruppe des "Wireless Power Consortiums".

 

  • MobilePass – AIT

Grenzkontrollen – mobil, sicher & schnell

Das Projekt MobilePass ist ein Konsortium von 11 Firmen, Instituten, Universitäten und Behörden. Ziel ist es, neue Technologien zur Personenidentifizierung bei der Grenzkontrolle zu entwickeln.

 

  • REFlex

Vom Fließband zur individuellen Massenproduktion

REFlex ist ein Projekt der FFG. Es fördert Innovation und Entwicklung auf dem Gebiet der Informationstechnologie. Für ein patentiertes Verfahren wurde ein Vorschlag für einen ISO/IEC-Standard eingereicht.

 

  • Bitmovin

Ruckelfreie Videos weltweit

Das Start-up Bitmovin ist auf dem Gebiet des adaptiven Videostreamings tätig. Seine Gründer haben die ISO/IEC 23009 – Fachleuten bekannt als MPEG-DASH-Standard – mitentwickelt.

Preisträger des Jahres 2016

  • Amt der OÖ. Landesregierung

Dem Land Oberösterreich ist die digitale Bauwerksdokumentation wichtig. Dazu hat man in den vergangenen Jahren eine gemeinsame Sprache installiert: Building Information Modelling, kurz: BIM. Das Land Oberösterreich ist federführend an der inhaltlichen Weiterentwicklung der entsprechenden Normenreihe beteiligt.

  • OTIS Gesellschaft mbH

OTIS ist in allen für das Unternehmen relevanten Normungskomitees auf europäischer und internationaler Ebene vertreten. Mehr als 1 000 Ingenieure sind dafür zuständig, dass die Produkte alle entsprechenden Normen erfüllen und danach zertifiziert sind. Und: Koordiniert und strategisch ausgerichtet werden diese Arbeiten von Österreich aus.

  • Polymer Competence Center Leoben GmbH

Das Polymer Competence Center Leoben PCCL hat mit führenden Kunststoffrohr-Herstellern mehrere Forschungsprojekte durchgeführt. Dabei wurde eine neue Prüfmethode entwickelt, die Prüfzeiten reduziert und mehr Informationen liefert. Diese entwickelte Prüfmethode hat auch Eingang in den internationalen Standard ISO 18489 gefunden.

  • TGM – Technologisches Gewerbemuseum HTBLuVA Wien XX

Den Technikerinnen und Technikern von morgen vermittelt das TGM, welche Bedeutung Standards haben. Dies geschieht u. a. mit Hilfe des Normenmanagement-Systems effects 2.0 und dem Normen-Lesesaal. Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des TGM wirken außerdem in rund 75 Normungskomitees bei Austrian Standards mit.

Preisträger des Jahres 2015

  • Normenmanagement Stadt Wien

Mehr als 20.000 Normen sind für die Stadt Wien relevant. Das strategische Normenmanagement zielt darauf ab, alle Lebensbereiche zu vernetzen.

  • Normenmanagement Land Niederösterreich

Vom Bau bis zur Spielplatzgestaltung kommen in Niederösterreich Europäische Normen zur Anwendung und sorgen für Sicherheit und Vergleichbarkeit. 2014 wurde das Normenmanagement neu aufgesetzt. Öffentliche Interessen wurden so mit dem technischen und wissenschaftlichen Fortschritt bestmöglich in Einklang gebracht.

  • Normenmanagement Teufelberger Holding AG

Teufelberger nützt als ein führender Entwickler und Hersteller von Stahlseilen und synthetischen Fasern standardisierte Prüfverfahren. Mit effects 2.0 kann unternehmensweit an verschiedenen Standorten zur Verwaltung von Normen in zwölf Bereichen auf dieselbe Plattform zugegriffen werden.